Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My backyard looks like it’s in a race to be the next great rainforest jungle of the county. While this seems completely apropos considering yesterday was Earth Day, I would prefer a perfectly manicured lawn with exceptional landscaping. Our maintenance men, however, seem to have other ideas (and clients), so I patiently wait for the mowers to come round while the yard is overgrown.

To ensure the contract is renewed and the yard maintained in a proper format, I needed to call the landscapers. If I did not make that call, the chance is nil they’ll magically read my mind and service the yard to my standards.

Getting what you want from a service provider is a two-way street. This means both parties must communicate in an open manner to 1) ensure the client’s needs are being met and 2) that the provider understands those needs. No one can read minds. It’s awfully unfair to assume the vendor knows all the ins and outs of your particular business or personnel if you don’t clue them in. When you’re open and forthright about the workings of your business, it helps to achieve goals. And as a vendor it’s important to ask those questions.

william-shakespeare-dramatist-for-my-part-it-was-greek-toIn honor of the Bard’s birthday (451 years young today), when either working with your clients or vendors, speak the same language. Otherwise, as William Shakespeare said, “It was Greek to me.” And you’ll end up with dissatisfaction on both ends.

 

