Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

A print of the M.C. Escher work “Drawing Hands” hangs on my office wall, directly across from my desk. Considered a masterpiece of visual art, the image displays a right hand sketching the cuff on a left hand. The left hand in the image is simultaneously sketching the cuff on the right hand.Drawing_hands

In this piece, Escher merges concepts of art and math, and it’s often called a singular work of timeless genius.

It’s always a joy for me to watch someone, who has never seen the print before, walk into my office and study it intently. I cannot recall anyone who has stepped away from it without communicating reverence for its ingenuity. For those already familiar with Escher’s work, they express appreciation for the multiple planes on which he constructs his images.

JUST RIGHT OF CENTER

I look at Drawing Hands every day I’m in my office. It’s a reminder to use both sides of my brain.

Now, I don’t know which one is the best, but when I take those “Which Side of Your Brain do You Use” tests, I’m usually just right of center. In fact, in taking all three of the tests I link to below, I scored either 54 or 55 as right-brained for each. So, I’m consistently somewhere around a 55/45 split.

I’ve found this balanced outlook and approach to life (or some may say I’m slightly off-center), as helpful for working in marketing and communications. While I can be analytical, organized and focused, I’m still able to be creative, intuitive and impulsive.

LEFT BRAIN/RIGHT BRAIN

2013-02-06-LeftBrainRightBrain21Wondering if you’re right- or left-brained? Take the test yourself.

Let me know where you fall in your brain!

Psych Tests http://testyourself.psychtests.com/testid/3178

Sommer + Sommer http://braintest.sommer-sommer.com/en/

Intelliscript http://www.intelliscript.net/test_area/questionnaire/questionnaire.cgi