Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to our meeting!Have you ever been part of a brainstorming session, planning meeting or business review that lasted all day? Or maybe the four-hour course you’re taking is late at night after a long day of work? Sure, the information was important and the presenter helpful, but how did you come out of it?

I’m usually exhausted. Exhausted like I just ran a half marathon, except I’m not sweating and my heart rate is actually lower than a resting pulse. All I want to do is return to my office or my home and lie in a supine position on the floor and just let the zapped energy ooze out of me. For an hour or two, at least.

It’s ironic since essentially I’ve been sitting that entire time, exerting no real physical energy except to lift cup after cup of coffee.

Through the years, I have gotten better at keeping myself ‘perky’ during long (or even boring) meetings. In addition to my (enormous) coffee consumption, some of my tricks are:

  1. Get up and walk around the room. At first I thought this might be rude but it’s a wonderful refresher, and I’m sure more people wish they would do it. It comes in handy in the moments just before you feel yourself nodding off and the inevitable head bounce jolts you wide awake.
  2. Chew gum. This increases blood flow to the head. But one warning –blowing bubbles or snapping it is typically frowned upon.
  3. Sit near the front where you have to make eye contact with the speaker. The fear of shame is a powerful anti-doze agent.

What is your method for keeping your energy up during meetings?

sleeping in meeting

