Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m experiencing a small thank-youdilemma. Recently, I wrote a recommendation for a young professional who is determining a career path and needs that extra boost to highlight her skills for prospective employers. I’ve written recommendations many times during my career – more frequently when I had interns on my team and they were heading out in the “real world.” It’s not overly time-consuming and doesn’t have to be an essay, but it still requires a bit of time to collect and organize your thoughts to create a clear, cohesive testimonial.

How often do you write or receive recommendations? I’ve only asked for a few through the years, and only have a couple on my Linked In profile. The amount is quite anemic, actually, when I look at the magnitude of recommendations on some of my contacts’ pages. I think I need to make a few more requests.

Anyway, back to my dilemma. Of all the recommendations I’ve written through the years, this is the first time I have not received a thank you note. They used to come through postal mail and more recently through email. Is it right or wrong to expect a thank you? I understand a good deed should be just that and doesn’t automatically warrant a thank you, but when I see this person frequently posting on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, I think it could be relatively easy to shoot off even a one-line thank you on any one of those mediums or through email or Linked in.

Business etiquette comes into play here. Perhaps the expectation is that this young adult learned how to be appreciative in the business world when maybe that’s not the case. Is this just a learning experience – for both of us? What would you do? Would you leave the recommendation as is or if there’s a possibility to remove it, would you?

Recomended stamp