Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Santa,

I’d like to reintroduce myself to you as it’s been at least 15 years since you’ve been to my home. I think when I moved into my own place, my address might not have been updated – or perhaps it was incorrectly recorded – because the gifts stopped appearing. I’m envisioning a big holiday database that needs updating, because both St. Nick and the Easter Bunny also seem to have overlooked me as well. I understand in these difficult economic times that staff is stretched thin and not all tasks are regularly attended, so I wanted to make sure you have my current address. (There’s no need to pass this on to the Tooth Fairy, as thankfully I no longer have that need!)

My other thought is that maybe I was bad for a couple of those years and so you put me on the ‘naughty’ list. I can’t really argue that. There was a while when I just decided to throw caution to the wind, go a little crazy and be a bit selfish and indulgent. I probably wasn’t a joy to be around either. But I have cleaned up my act – honest I did. And I thought that maybe you would start coming around again, even if it was to drop off a few briquettes of charcoal. I’d take anything just to know you’re still in my life and we can continue our relationship. I know you don’t really owe me anything but as I still believe in you, I don’t think I should be denied.

Plus, I truly have cleaned up my act. I swear less at bad drivers on the road, I am really patient behind people who still write out checks at the grocery store, and I even sit quietly and attentively while people tell me the same story three, four or even five times. In my mind, I tell them I’ve heard the story before, but I don’t say anything out loud. Well, not every time.

So, if there is a chance for us to renew what we once had, you’ll find that I don’t really ask for much. Not like the old days when Barbies, dolls and toys topped the list. I’m much more practical these days. For instance, I would really love a new dictionary and thesaurus. (Yes, I still love books, in case you were wondering and I read two or three a month. I’m still writing, too!) And on that note, if you could find me a publisher for one of my books, that would be the ultimate gift and I wouldn’t ask for anything for like another five years.

So Santa, I truly have missed you. I hope you are doing well and I will see you soon. Like next week. Safe travels!

All my best,
Ann

P.S. Here we are together from a few years past – hopefully this jogs your memory!2002 christmas with santa

