Tags

, , , , , , ,

So far this summer I’ve made my way through an eclectic reading list, but that’s the way I love it. When I read, I try something new, then something light, than something a little more literary and then the randomness continues. Sometimes I reread a novel just to come at it from a new perspective and see what I missed the last go around. Oftentimes I have three different books going at once – one in the kitchen, one at my bed stand and another in my car (usually a short story collection) because I may have a few extra minutes and I don’t want to spend it searching the web on my phone. I always find time for reading and it’s never let me down.

An illustration by Anthony Russo

I don’t plan my reading list; rather this becomes one of those occurrences when things just fall into place without any effort or real planning.  Sometimes I’m inspired to pick up a book from a review or recommendation, which is how I found “Rules of Civility” by Amor Towles, it’s my favorite so far and I recommend it to you. I was inspired to reread “The Great Gatsby” when I saw the movie trailer for the upcoming adaptation. I could not and still cannot picture Leo D. as Gatsby no matter how hard I try but that’s what I love about literature – the characters can always remain my own interpretation no matter what someone else presents.

I know the big book this summer is “Fifty Shades of Grey,” and I admit I haven’t yet read it, although from all the discussion, I have a pretty good idea of the entire plot and how the Twilight saga inspired it. To the readers who loved that book, I highly recommend Anaïs’ Nin’s “Henry and June” which is directly from Anaïs’ diary and probably the most sexualsome adventure any woman could undertake.

So, the summer isn’t yet over and I have at least seven more weeks to add titles to my list. Right now, I’m working through the final book in Henry Miller’s The Obelisk Trilogy and another literary piece. After that, I’m not sure what will come next. Any recommendations?

My summer reading list so far:
Stories I Only Tell my Friends – Rob Lowe
Spider Bones – Kathy Reichs
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
Wicked Appetite – Janet Evanovich
Plum Lucky – Janet Evanovich
Plum Lovin’ – Janet Evanovich
Sizzling Sixteen – Janet Evanovich
Smokin’ Seventeen – Janet Evanovich*
The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
Rules of Civility – Amor Towles
Tropic of Capricorn – Henry Miller
Sherlock Holmes mysteries (The majority of them) – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Like Life – Lorrie Moore
Margaret Atwood: An Introduction To Critical Views Of Her Fiction – Gina Wisker

*it appears that I was on a Janet Evanovich kick and I loved every delicious, silly moment.