Tags

, , , ,

You helped me move the couch upstairs
We stopped on the landing and smiled
You put your arms around me and pulled me close
Tears sprang to my eyes and I laughed in
Spite of myself

You keep appearing when I least expect it
Chances are good but the odds are high
That when I think I am over you
My heart takes a tumble down the stairs and
Into your arms

I always remember the good
And play down the pain
I know I can’t keep you
I’ll cry
But you’ll never hear me complain

We share a beer and sit on the stoop
Laughing at memories we made
Reliving the moments that shaped the life
Of what we were, what we became
Without each other

I always remember the good
And play down the pain
I know I can’t keep you
I’ll cry
But you’ll never hear me complain

Your lips brush softly against mine
We sigh, breathe each other in
Oh, I’m all confused again
My heart takes a tumble down the stairs and
Into your arms.